0 item(s) in your basket  |  Call +44 (0) 1772 811215
Brochure Request
Price List Request
Longthorne Gunmakers

What Our Customers Say

'Thoroughly impressive gun'
My Longthorne was manufactured in house, to my specification by proper people. Look no further for a thoroughly impressive gun and aftersales service. Thankyou, "Toby Taylor".

Client TT (Google Reveiw) March 2021
'A thing of beauty'
Best thing I ever did and thankfully chose the correct gunmaker a 16 bore from longthorne does every thing you could ask for as well as being a thing of beauty. Thank you Longthorne.

Client TS (Google review) March 2021
'Superb product'
Very nice people to deal with, superb product, what more can I say?

Client PH (Google review)March 2021
'Superbly balanced'
Cannot sing the praises of both the guns and the positive helpful attitude of the Longthorne Team. I have used my 16b over 6 seasons now, never a problem, through rain and shine. superbly balanced, so light. I have been so pleased I have added another gun - that must show how pleased I am with them.

Client MF (Google review) March 2021
'A real pleasure'
I really went to town with the specification on my pair of interchangeable Renaissance 12 & 16 bore shotguns purchased from Longthorne in 2019. The whole experience was a real pleasure and I really enjoyed the true 'made-to-fit' process with Jim in the workshop. The guns are superb, light and haven't missed a beat..... although I may have missed the odd hundred footer!

Client JS (Google Review) March 2021
'Great Guns'
Great guns, great people, great value.

Client DS (Google review) March 2021
'Beautiful guns'
Upon retirement I treated myself to a pair of 12 bores. the whole process from start to taking delivery of these beautiful guns was a pleasure. There is no doubt in mind they are one of the most beautiful shotguns available, they handle beautifully and unique barrel construction soaks up the recoil. I could not be happier and fantastic to see a British business thriving in these difficult times. Well done Jim and Elaine! 

Client DLE (Google review) March 2021
'Amazing craftsmanship'
The experience I had was amazing, seeing how the gun is made from start to finish. Especially when it come to fitting of the gun, amazing craftsmanship.

For being one of the youngest purchaser at the time, they took me through every step personally, happy the answer all my questions & queries.

The aftercare is amazing, any problem I had with gun they dealt with it and sorted it out in a really good time.

I highly recommend them.

Client LH (Google review) March 2021
'Great experience'
My Hesketh Deluxe has performed wonderfully for several seasons now. It shoots more smoothly than any other gun I've tried. The process of having it built with all my personal preferences taken care of was a great experience.

Client MG (Google review) March 2021
'Absolute joy'
Bought 16 bore in 2016 beautiful well balanced gun, had gun in for service during lockdown when I collected it was like being reunited with an old friend, when I said that Elaine replied that it was said with true passion.

Absolute joy to shoot with struggle to keep my friends from using it on shoot days as it receives lots of admiring looks.
The Longthorne team are always very welcoming and down to earth when ever I meet Jim and Elaine, have spent three days shooting in there company and I have always been well looked after every time.

I have now added to my collection and have now got four Longthorne guns.

If anyone wants history in the making one cannot go far beyond Longthorne guns looking foreword to catching up with them at the 2021 game fair.

Client ML (Google review) March 2021
'The Longthorne was a delight'
Its over 5 years now since I ordered and received my Longthorne Celtic. I had watched the firm of Longthorne for two years beforehand, fully understanding the modern engineering techniques employed and decided to treat myself to one for my impending retirement.

I had shot game with a side x side all my life and had a "B" make O/U for clays to avoid putting too much on my delightful Alex Henry sidelocks which I had at the time. I found my vision changing and I was shooting more consistently with the O/U.

The Longthorne was a delight in every way and my shooting companions commented how my shooting had improved in accuracy. Jims gun fitting is excellent. I have had various tutors and gunfitters advise me in the 65 years I have been shooting but none have brought the noticable difference to my shooting that Longthorne has. I found I was able to locate more "high" birds than ever. Recoil had been a problem before Longthorne with busy days and especially 34+gms cartridges which in the Longthorne were fired without noticing recoil. The gun is a delight to shoot and others comment how light it is for a 12b O/U. 

I took delivery of a 28 bore Celtic this last season for partridge shooting. It handles really well and ideal for those quick partridges in the autumn. I could have put very light loads through the 12 bore but just fancied a little 28. Wonderful guns and an absolute delight to shoot to the envy of many others.

Client MH, Buckinghamshire, England 25.3.2021
'Love my Longthorne'
I've got one and have several other guns but I might as well sell them all because I always get the longthorne out on a shoot day.

Client PF comment on Youtube approx Feb 2020
20 Jan 2021
'Work of art'
A very exciting evening as my beautiful gun finally arrived this afternoon!  I havent been able to s pend a lot of quality time with it (yet) but it is truly a beautiful work of art, and i absolutely love it. 

Client KS, New Zealand 19.1.2021 
'6lb with minimal recoil'
We received this lovely note from one of our customers today and thought we would like to share it with you........

November this year I’ve had my Longthorne gun now for 6 years, and I still gets favourable comments from other shooters at the various grounds around the South of England that I visit.  

It’s still performing faultlessly, with over 30,000 cartridges used through it to date, with no problems whatsoever.
 
My 13 year old  grandson started shooting sporting clays with me in February this year trying out my collection of guns, then restarting after lockdown trying out the Longthorne. 

Well as you can guess, as my Longthorne is only just over 6 Lb in weight and with minimal recoil, he loved it and asked if he could use it every time we go out shooting.     The gun suits him very well and he’s been regularly using it, with him putting 200 + mixture of Steel & Lead shot 28-7.5 cartridges through it every weekend.

My Grandson is now getting around 70% kills in Sporting, also when using it last Sunday morning he shot a 22/25 on a round of Sport-Trap.   If he carries on improve at this fast rate in the sport, it looks like I’ve lost the gun.

Client MF, Kent, England 27.10.2020
'Fantastic job'
I had a great weekend shooting my gun, what a fantastic job Jim has made of it, the fit is just right, I am amazed at that, once again thank you so much.

Client MS, Derbyshire, England 11.8.2020
'Impressed with handling'
I tried the gun out at the weekend on about 100 clays and was very impressed with the handling - very smooth, no noticeable barrel flip at all and hardly and any recoil - so exactly as you said. I really enjoyed the handling of the gun and am going to get a lot of pleasure from it I can immediately see that.

Client MP, Stirling, Scotland 10.8.2020
'It's fantastic'
Well worth the wait, I received the first 28 bore hot of the press.  It’s fantastic. I can’t stop looking at the gun. A big thank you to all at Longthorne in producing such a beautiful gun. 

Client AR, Lancashire, England 11.10.19
'Quality and Service'
I write to express my thanks for the delivery of my 16 bore shotgun. I am delighted with the quality and the service and am sure will enjoy using the gun,  it is every thing and more ,but is a mark of your ability to produce such a fine piece of engineering becoming of the long history of fine English gunmakers.

Client TS, York, England 13.9.19
'Magnificent'
The guns have arrived in perfect condition. They were very safely packed. Very impatient to try them both. They are just magnificent.

Client PA Paris, France 10.9.19
Brilliant day
It was a brilliant day in every way, topped off by those superb Longthorne guns.  Quite the nicest handling gun I've ever shot! 

Comment made by lady shooter who attended the shoot at Shuckburgh Hall 28.6.19
'Amazing'
Just got back from clay shooting , gun was amazing and my shooting improved. 

New 'Longthorne' owner after first shoot TJ 21.5.19
'Stunnning Shotguns'
A huge thank you for your and the whole Longthorne team's hospitality which made our visit today so enjoyable.   We were both really impressed by the engineering technology, outstanding quality and obvious passion the whole team have, that result in truly stunning shotguns.   To see first-hand the intricate processes involved was a real eye-opener.  The pinacle of British gunsmithing and craftsmanship.   Again, thank you all for a fabulous tour.

Open House Visitor SG 15.2.19 


'The English maker'
It has long been said you should never meet your heroes, nor should you ever have a short bucket list.

Unfortunately I did and I also ticked a box off my list, because of one sunny sunday in Lincolnshire I got my hands on a Celtic Longthorne.

Over the years English shotgun makers have stood out and been regarded as one of the best. Needless to say Longthorne have certainly proved to be one of them. I first met Alex at the first Northern Shooting Show in 2015, and now and again since. That was until one day on a shoot I was filming, Alex showed up with a Longthorne, which just happened to be a Celtic!

The Reveal.I received a message saying ”Get your backside down here now!” Now I don't have to tell me twice.

Pulling into the car park at the local club and picking up a quick cup of tea in the club house. In a side room I saw laying in front of me was the unmistakable brown leather gun slip with the embossed logo of Longthorne. Undoing the strap and buckle eagerly awaiting what was to come out, in the sun soaked side room.

The Woodwork.

The first thing to greet me was the stock, no rubber pad thank goodness! You just don't place a rubber pad on a shotgun of this calibre, it would detract massively from the craftmanship put into this shotgun.

(However I must point out the wood is not what you’d find normally on a longthorne.)

Any Longthorne custom stock you buy will be of a grade of 5-6 or a exhibition quality.(Which you can't have on what I hate to say is technically a demo gun.)

Being a custom gun, the stock work and attention to detail is clearly there to see. The wood wasn't cheap by any means, as you can see in the pictures.

There wasn't much cast if any to the stock, which for me I like. The chequering is grippy and wraps from the palm till meeting in the middle at the top.

As you would find on a high-end English, maker the tear drop is found at the back of the sideplate carrying on those nods to the old guns. But don't over look the subtle carving hints like you can see by the trigger.

Moving to the front, the forend has a styling between a schnabel forend and a beaver tail. For many this may seem odd but in fact felt really comfy and personally has that cross over, between game and clay bashing.The release pin being set at the front of the forend, finishes off the high-end feel while suitable grooving finishes it nicely. It runs the length of the forend and by applying a reassuring pressure, you release the forend. 

Knowing you can be reassured the littlest knock, or catching on the gun slip won't mean you loose your forend. When wood meets metal, the line up as always was spot on.

The Metal Work.

The action and side plates are adorned with a celtic styled engraving, which elegantly hides some of the pins. The screws aren't left out either, being engraved in a fine floral design.The thin engraved background highlights the zoomorphic engraving, this comes across as black but, as you can see the sun makes it come alive. The area around the safety and top lever is engraved, just so you don't miss out on that lovely engraving.

The trigger is custom as expected, but it's the rounded shape that hugs the finger tip and lends itself to the overall feel. Being a crisp 3lbs this was a pleasure for me. My trigger finger felt like it was squeezing it and not snatching at it. As I don't have the largest of hands the trigger guard was spacious and lends itself to shooting with gloves.

The Barrels.

Now down to the nitty gritty. The barrels are a sight to behold not only because of the way they look, but how they are made.

As many guns today are made by CnC and the barrels can be drilled or made by hot and cold forging. The Longthornes barrels aren't and they are done by CnC machines.

This means the rigidity, strength and weight come together to produce a quality set of barrels. If you want proof click on their website, look at the picture of a Land Rover parked on a set of barrels. Then you can see why they shoot and pattern so well.

Looking down the barrels there was no bead, which is fine as you look for the bird and not the bead. It was a little off putting as I'm one for looking at the bead and the bird (That works for me.) Barrel length again is a customer choice, but these were 28 inches.

An elegant 4mm rib is aesthetically pleasing and compliments the thin centre rib. How the barrels were produced means there is no need for venting being strong and thin, and lightweight the heat is dispersed efficiently.

The chokes were fixed but again choice is down to the buyer for fixed or multi.

Even though Longthorne have only been producing shotguns since 2010. You can feel craftsmanship and see the passion and the influence of past English makers.

Personally I couldn't afford a shotgun like this and it was a privilege to shoot it. It's hard to review something that can be so personally modified, so this was based on this available shotgun.I have not doubt if you spent your hard earned pennies you would not be disappointed. It's a family company bringing a personal service, all from an English made product.

The Celtic starting from RRP is £20,000 and how far it goes is down to you.

My thanks goes to:Alex Black the Longthorne Sales Manager.
Paul Whitelam of The Northern Shooting Show for the introduction.

Review undertaken and published by Independent blogger  (Facebook)617 12.02.19
'Accuracy'
As I look through this month’s Field, I still can’t believe your prices compared to others. Example, what does an .....?.... at three times the price have that mine doesn’t? ..........?......... £31K off the peg.   Finally, accuracy. Never mind the bling. I am shooting birds I have never done in the past. My ratio has dropped by at least one on standard birds. 

Client SJ Carmarthenshire 07.12.18 England
'Looks amazing'
Thank you, chuffed to bits with the gun. Looks amazing so thank you for all your work, really love it. Didn’t shoot it too badly either!

Client ST East Sussex 28.11.18 England
Fantastic gun
Just had back to back days on partridge at Boduan N Wales with my Longthorne, Fantastic gun I love it.

Client PG 01.11.18 England
The guns are amazing
Just a quick note to say that the guns are amazing.  Great workmanship – very smart.  On a practical level they seem very light and agile with so little recoil.  One benefit I have noticed is that because the guns fit me so well it is almost intuitive now to mount properly.  It is early days but my hit rate has gone up 10 ppts.  I will send you the stats at the end of the season.  In summary wow!  

Client NR Derbyshire 09.10.18 England
Loving my Longthorne
I wanted to let you know that I am absolutely loving my Longthorne.  It is definitely drawing a lot of looks and attention. My friend who I shoot 5-stand with on Friday mornings can’t believe the weight and lack of felt recoil.  I think he may be your next customer.......and he was!!

Client TH Texas 22.8.18  USA
The right balance between quality and value
I got my first shotgun, a single barrel 410, aged around 14 and still have it. Over a lifetime of shooting  I have owned several “production” guns and, as good as most of them have been, their ownership  was never aspirational, nor was there any real pride of ownership.   

I’ve often hankered after a hand made English gun but have been put off by the astronomical prices suggested by the big names. Having discovered Longthorne I liked the “come to the factory and take a look” approach, which was much the same as we did in my yacht building business. 

Having visited the factory and seen what goes into a Longthorne gun I was convinced I’d found the right balance between quality and value. We agreed the specification and detail, my wife even chose the wood for the stock. On delivery my 20 bore was very much “my gun”, the finish and detail was in every way better than I expected and the gun shoots beautifully.  

Every time it comes out of its slip I feel good about it. It’s my gun and I know it has been made with care, just for me, by the skilled hands of some great British craftsmen.  

Sir Richard Matthews  Founder - Oyster Marine   15.6.18 Engand
Gun feels awesome
Lack of recoil is great, so accurate it's untrue!! 
Longthorne sponsored shooter and International Competition Shooter Brett Winstanley on receiving his 'Longthorne' practice gun 24.5.18


Gun fit Is everything
The guys spent 2 hours making me mount my 'Longthorne' stock, 'till my arms almost fell off. A millimetre at a time until it was perfect. Gun fit is everything. James knows what’s best and I trust him 110%. I love my 'Longthorne' and each time I shoot her the love grows stronger.
Client MB Buckinghamshire, 7.4.18 England 
Fantastic guns
My Longthorne is now over 3 years old and still as good as the day I collected it, you make fantastic guns.
Client MF Kent, England 16.2.18
Very happy
 I just had 2 days in Yorkshire on high pheasant and opted to use the new gun which performed flawlessly. Its already been much admired by fellow guns and I have to tell you I am very happy with it.
Client RM Essex, England 10.1.18
Stunning
The gun is stunning and I have already received rave comments from those I have shown it to which will only enhance your already excellent reputation in the shooting world.
Client TL Suffolk, England 18.11.17
Very special
Having arrived home I eventually managed to have a closer look at my new 'best friend ' and became envious of your husband! ( please don't take this the wrong way!) I am envious because innovation plus enthusiasm to produce such a wonderful gun that will give so much pleasure to its owner must be an immensely satisfying achievement. I have owned just a few guns in my time but before I even fire my Longthorne I know this is something very special. In a word it is just perfect and I can't thank your family enough for providing me with such pleasure. Having been in business all my working life and running eventually my own ( with maybe some success) it is a great pleasure to have dealt with your company whom tick each and all the boxes. Your company has a great future! Thank you all again and I am sure that very soon I will be telling you what a great gun a Longthorne is to shoot, My very best wishes and a special 'thank you' to James.
Client JB Shropshire, England 17.11.17
Perfection
Just to let you know I shot my new gun on a partridge day on Saturday. Bodfuan shoot in N Wales near Nefyn, I think you may know of it. Please thank James and everyone who worked on it for me it performed superbly. The day was very enjoyable enhanced by the "perfection" of my new gun.
Client PG, 4.9.17
Absolutely fantastic
The gun is absolutely fantastic, I’m really enjoying shooting with it and those that see the gun are very impressed at the feel and ‘point-ability’/sweep.
Client HV, Melbourne, Australia 14.7.17
Fantastic work
Many many thanks for your fantastic work making my gun.  Not shot much yet but it feels 'bloody fantastic'.  Very pointable and superfast, I have to slow myself down,! Thanks again I will certainly recommend you.
Client PG Lancashire, England 30.6.17
Most impressed
I was most impressed with the guns - apart from their good looks, the lack of recoil on such a light gun was quite remarkable.  Anyone trying them for the first time cannot fail to be impressed.  
Demonstration Day guest(Sporting Targets) MB 31.5.17
Highly regarded
Not only was it my first experience of using a Longthorne, but it was also my first experience of using a 16 bore on a driven day.  To say that I  am in love with your gun, Jim, would be an understatement! Having heard so much about your guns, I can now understand why they are so highly regarded.  You must be so proud of what you have achieved and I wish you every sucdcess in the future, you truly deserve it.  I, for one will be singing your (and your guns') praises to anyone who will listen!
Powis Castle Guest MJ 21.01.17
Another level
 Latterly I think I can say that I have got the hang of things to the point where as a shot I have moved on to another level. Any time you decide to take guns in px I will gladly order a couple more!
Client MS London Sussex 20.01.17
High pheasants
I shot my two highest ever pheasants in the lake district on Monday, they were easily 80m up, dead in the air as an over and under using the 4 shot - cant tell you how pleased I was!
Client MF North Yorkshire, England  21.12.16
Hesketh heritage
I am very pleased with my guns (especially the 16 bore), I have waited a long time to get them to my specification but the waiting was ultimately worth it.   The 16 bore (with the colour hardening, engraved screws, figured stock, horn butt plate and gold trigger and pins) is a work of art - I've named it the "Hesketh Heritage".
Client CN Middlesex, England 29.11.16
Fantastic
First shoot day with the Longthorne today, fantastic! Lovely gun, so well balanced, shot really well with it
Client PE Cumbria, England 21.11.16
Recoil very Low
The gun handles very well and recoil has been very low with everthing that i have tried - 28 gram Pro Fibre, 28 gram White Gold plastic, 32 gram fibre VIP game and 28 gram First Select fibre.
Client EW Worcestershire, England 1.11.16
Terrific
I'm really pleased with the shotgun it looks terrific and the fit, finish and engineering are incredible.
Client JH Lancashire, England 31.10.16
A dream to shoot
Their beautiful 16 gauge over and under shotgun was a dream to shoot. Very light with a natural swing. Recoil was like a 28 gauge extremely soft and comfortable. The craftmanship was second to none that was evident from first picking it up. It was an amazing day. Thank you very much for hosting Shooting for heroes. It is superb to get an insight into a cutting edge gun maker. THANK YOU LONGTHORNE
Honoured visitor from Shooting for Heroes MC 24.9.16
Brilliant
Gun was brilliant and much admired – I am looking forward to receiving mine!
Client CH Oxfordshire, England 20.5.16 (Using a loaned gun for a local charity shoot)
A few words by an Olympic hopeful
How has Longthorne Gunmakers helped you?
Longthorne Gunmakers have been amazing with all of their help and support.  The gun that I shoot, which is the 'Hesketh' , has provided the consistency that I've had so far this year.  The way the gun fits me and the way it feels to shoot is unbelievable.  A lot of hard work has gone into the process from Longthorne Gunmakers to produce this beatiful gun for me.  The gun is very light, which allows it to flow when I shoot but I never get any recoil.
Jack Halsall '5 Minutes with Jack Halsall' Sporting Times (UK) 11.5.16 - Longthorne Gunmakers are proud to sponsor Jack Halsall
Beautiful and lightweight
I took the gun on the boxing day shoot and everyone thought it a fantastic and stunning gun. To sum it up, we have people on our shoot who have some very nice guns and one of them (who owns that standard of gun) said "...., I have shot with and looked at many top class guns, this is the only one I have had in my hand where the first thought that entered my mind was, WOW".

You have a great product and a caring, open, honest and refreshing approach to your customers which I value greatly.
Client AS Greater Manchester, England 27.12.15
A greater joy
The gun is still looking and feeling great, as I improve it just becomes a greater joy to shoot, thank you for giving me such great pleasure in my shooting in 2015
Client PH Sussex, England 20.12.15
In looks, handling and shooting, I am most pleased
The Longthorne gun and self are finally united. I was away from Hawaii when it arrived so have just actually received and now shot the gun. In looks, handling and shooting, I am most pleased. Further my two shooting sons have already made not very subtle murmurs about who gets it next. I look forward to much shooting enjoyment, both targets and game birds and thank you Longthorne Gunmakers for providing so fine a shotgun, and thank you as well for the accompanying best quality slip case.
Client FB Hawaii, USA 19.12.15

Fantastic
The gun is fantastic and getting plenty of action.
Client MB Lancashire, England 09.12.15
Superb balance
The Hesketh has been used extensively at Simulated Days in East and West Sussex on one occasion firing 590 cartridges in the day It's superb balance , weight and ability to absorb recoil make it a joy to shoot The gun's performance has been faultless
Client MR Sussex, England 24.8.15
Good fitting
I used the Hesketh today, that is when I could get every body else's hands of it. It functioned perfectly, upping my score slightly above the norm, for me. So great potential for when I get really accustomed to it. I think the biggest difference was the ease & speed with which it moves, meaning that I had to be less aggressive with my swing on crossers. On driven & quartering clays it shot so much to where I was looking ( good fitting ) that I was hitting them yards earlier than usual.
Client GS Lincolnshire, England 10.5.15
Excellent
Well finally yesterday I collected my new above mentioned shotgun from the Australian Customs office in Hobart. It took longer to get from Melbourne to Hobart than from London to Australia. Anyway that is life and this did not worry me much and simply pleased that this shotgun has finally arrived. The bottom line here is the shotgun and case both look excellent and I am sure will bring me many years of good use.
Client RW Tasmania, Australia 19.3.15
Without any felt recoil
Very many thanks to Jim and yourself for returning my gun, in time for the simulated day yesterday. We had a wonderful day, fantastic weather, beautiful wooded valleys and hundreds of shots each. The gun performed flawlessly and without any felt recoil, not even a mark on my shoulder, which I often get using my.........., when firing so many shots, especially on such a hot day when the cartridges can get a bit `lively`.!
Client SM Dorset, England 18.5.14
Impressed
I was clay shooting just north of Preston on Sunday and couldn’t believe how much interest my gun was creating. Everyone was very impressed with both it’s technical points and finish. I’m really pleased with it,thanks.
Client ST Lancashire, England 28.4.14
Gun making excellence
A CUSTOMER’S PERSPECTIVE ON THE HESKETH DELUXE.....I had to wait awhile for my personalised bespoke gun – but it was more than worth it. A lot has already been written about the innovative design of this true English side-lock over and under, but as a layman who just enjoys his shooting, the gun I received was a truly outstanding marriage of engraving excellence and a finely balanced light gun that points almost intuitively and shoots like a dream with negligible recoil and barrel flip.

From the initial measuring of my somewhat awkward left hand and right eye dominance issues, to the untiring attention to details from the very talented Chloe whose artistic interpretations of my engraving requirements culminated in truly beautiful engraving, the process has been faultless – and very enjoyable.

If you are looking for something very special to make your chosen sport even more enjoyable, I would strongly recommend you get in touch with James or Elaine at Longthorne Gunmakers – you will be treated with warmth, respect and service that is unrivalled. Even more importantly you will be ending up with a true English side-lock shotgun, at a price that defies the quality and engineering excellence that is demonstrated in abundance at their manufacturing plant in Lancashire.

It is a privilege to reap the benefits of James Longthorne Stewart’s dream to create and build this very special quality English gun in the tradition of this Country’s history of gun-making excellence.
Client PH Sussex, England 30.3.14

Absolutely fantastic
This world is full of bludgers, blaggers, liars, cheats, halfwits, big talkers,idiots. evil doers ,bone idol spongers, and Pretenders, sadly I have come across my fair share of them, therefore you will know as I do that it is very rare indeed for anyone to fulfill their promise, do what they say they can do be honourable and stick to it through thick and thin no matter what, these people are very rare indeed in fact almost extinct. With that said when James said some years ago he was going to build his own gun there were many doubters,me included, although I had no doubt he had the grit, knowledge and energy to do it I felt it may have been too big a mountain to climb. Having seen the gun that you have all produced for GB I can honestly say it is absolutely fantastic and a true credit to the Stewart family, as good as anything you will see in fact probably as good if not better than you will see anywhere and a real shout for the independent entrepreneur of which I am all in favour of, against all the odds you have created a wonderful thing.I am extremely proud to say I know you Jim and Elaine, I hope your success grows and grows.
Friend of Client MS Lancashire, England 15.12.13

It was perfect
I have finally got around to using my new gun, and I have to say it is excellent! My wife and I went out to a clay ground last weekend and put about 100 28g cartridges through it – it was lovely. The balance is perfect and I feel, that unlike the (other gun) when I put the gun up , it is there ready and pointing in the right place – which always helps! I love the assisted opening too – makes firing singles and dropping the barrels to reload a joy! Very much admired by everyone too!

I went on a simulated day on Saturday and took the Hesketh as well as the ‘other gun’ – we were expecting to fire around 500 each (21g) so I took both in case there was an issue with recoil – but absolutely no problems there ( you may remember my ‘other gun’ has a ‘girlie’ hydraulic recoil pad, as opposed to walnut) but seriously, it was perfect. Here too the gun was much admired – along with some very envious looks.
Client AW Hampshire, England
Low recoil
The test gun was not only lively to use with inherent stability - it had low recoil - a fantastic combination only achievable with a skilful approach to action, barrels and balance.
Wes Stanton CEO Blaze Publishing
.....a Longthorne shoots without conscious effort allowing you to shoot instinctively
Vic Harker Shooting Journalist & Gun Reviewer
Finish is superb
I would just like to say thank you very much for allowing our group to visit your factory, it was absolutely brilliant - I really did enjoy it. I found it extremely interesting and could follow all the things that you were doing on the machines, I used to work at Rolls Royce and it brought things back to me. The thing that I was surprised about was that there were no billets but that it was all from solid blocks. I could have spent hours watching you running the machine. Thank you also for letting us shoot your guns, I was surprised that there was no kick back at all they are very nicely balanced and the finish is superb.
GB- Member of The West Lancs Masonic Shooters
Remarkable
Our members fired at clays with a broad range of light and very heavy loads. The recoil was negligible even with the heaviest loads. A true testament to the high quality design and manufacture of these remarkable shotguns.
Keith Stoker, Registrar Institute of Clay Shooting Instructors
Just fantastic
Yesterday I have been shooting a driven pheasant and partridge in the Borders of Scotland using a Hesketh gun. We were 5 guns and got a bag of over 250 birds, and the gun was just fantastic!!! It is incredible how it handles, the lack of recoil and that it never gets too hot.

You need one finger to open the gun!!! It opens completely and it closes effortlessly. It’s a wonderful gun!!!
Mr Rocchi who sampled one of our guns in Scotland

Longthorne Guns

Directions



By Car: We are about 10 minutes from junction 16 M1 in the centre of Northampton.

By Train: The closest station is about 5 minutes away (Northampton) and we can pick you up from the station by prior arrangement.

By Air:  The Closest airports are Luton (41 mls) Birmingham International (46 mls) Heathrow (70 mls) Stanstead (89 mls) Gatwick (105 mls)

Contact



Longthorne House, 1 Millbrook Close
Northampton NN5 5JF

+44 (0) 1772 811215

Copyright © Longthorne Gunmakers Ltd 2021
Site design by ... a trouble halved